Dienstag, 30. Mai 2017, 00:37:12 Uhr

21. Januar 2014, 18:00


The stars of the peloton have been kicking off their season in Qatar since 2002, and since 2009 they have been courteous enough to let the ladies race first (February 4-7). Once again this year, many of the leading lights of the international peloton will come to Doha to duke it out from February 9 to 14. Lots of them will seek to put an end to the reign of the Omega Pharma - Quick Step Cycling Team, which has taken six of the last eight editions with, among others, four-time winner Tom Boonen and defending champion Mark Cavendish.

Qatar, 21.1.14 Red. The 19 teams selected (one more than in 2013) will tackle five sprinter-friendly stages and a 10.9 km individual time trial around the Lusail Moto GP circuit, where power riders will be able to let their legs do the talking. The emirate's never-resting winds will likely decide the duel between the sprint specialists and the lone raiders, spicing up the Qatari race with a hint of the Flemish classics…

The 19 participating teams

Ag2r La Mondiale (FRA)

Astana Pro Team (KAZ)

Bardiani CSF (ITA)

Belkin – Pro Cycling Team (NED)

BMC Racing Team (USA)

Cannondale Pro Cycling (ITA)

FDJ.fr (FRA)

IAM Cycling (SUI)

Katusha Team (RUS)

Lotto Belisol (BEL)

Omega Pharma – Quick Step Cycling Team (BEL)

Orica-GreenEDGE (AUS)

Skydive Dubai (UAE)

Team NetApp – Endura (GER)

Team Sky (GBR)

Tinkoff Saxo (DEN)

Topsport Vlaanderen – Baloise (BEL)

Trek Factory Racing (USA)

UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team (USA)


Stage 1, Sunday, February 9: Al Wakra – Dukhan Beach (135.5 km)

Stage 2, Monday, February 10: Camel Race Track – Al Khor Corniche (160.5 km)

Stage 3, Tuesday, February 11: Lusail Circuit, individual time trial (10.9 km)

Stage 4, Wednesday, February 12: Dukhan - Mesaieed (135 km)

Stage 5, Thursday, February 13: Al Zubara Fort – Madinat ash-Shamal (159 km)

Stage 6, Friday, February 14: Sealine Beach Resort – Doha Corniche (113.5 km)

Leserkommentare (0) »